Step Two

In the beginning of the reading material for step two it states in a nutshell what step two is all about when it says “we seek to have the constant companionship of the Holy Ghost for guidance and spiritual nourishment throughout the day and night. We choose relief from worry when we quietly listen for the promptings of the Holy Spirit, through scripture study, listening to hymns and many other experiences nourish our souls . . . [Christ’s] grace enables us to develop hopeful thoughts and emotions, which then create a positive way of life. . . We can seek God’s guidance each day and listen to His voice or we can listen to the inner voices of shame, frustration, and anger, which create unmanageable behavior. . . We do have a choice. We get what we focus on consistently. We will discover God’s presence in our lives as we exercise faith that He can bring peace to our souls regardless of what others are doing.” Neal a. Maxwell said we hold on to hope by “not looking back and refusing to let yesterday hold tomorrow hostage.”. The lesson also talks about how one of the great ways to overcome negative emotions is to find things to be grateful for and focus on those blessings. Think about how you are being strengthened and blessed even in this trial.

Now for my experience . . . It has been incredibly hard to let go of the past. I think of the lies and dishonesty and have been too scared to let go of that for fear I will open the door to get my heart crushed again. But after many months of not being willing to give up the pain of the past I realized I was stuck in the past and could not truly move forward and find joy unless I let go of the past and had faith I would be okay no matter what happens. It is amazing how truly realizing that and making that decision within my heart opened the door to release fear and replace it with faith. It is just like they say, faith and fear cannot go exist. The more I let go of the fear, the more faith I felt and my faith and trust in my Heavenly Father’s plan for me has done nothing but grow and I am coming to truly know that all things are for my good, He only wants what is best for me and even this trial is in my best interest. In the beginning that statement would have sounded crazy, how in this world could this hurt be for my best interest? But as time has gone on I know this trial is for my best interest for many reasons. As hard as it is to let go of fear and trust in Christ and my Heavenly Father, I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that is the only way to truly find joy and happiness and really move on with my life. The Holy Spirit that I have felt and come to be familiar with is amazing and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I would not even give back my struggles if it were at the expense of what I have felt and learned. I am so grateful for step 2 and it showing me how to find hope!

This entry was posted in Steps. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Step Two

  1. Anonymous contributor says:

    I just wanted to add to what you said. Recently in my reading it was brought home to me again-the importance of “not looking back” but moving forward, with the story of Lot’s Wife. They were told to get out of Sodom and Gomorrah and to NOT LOOK BACK. Well, we know what Lot’s wife did..she looked back. When I find myself looking back- I am reminded that ( unless I have some unfinished work to do ) looking back serves no good purpose. It pulls me down. We all need to move ahead and step 2 gives you the hope to be able to do that.

  2. dala2011 says:

    I like what you wrote about giving away your fear as an act of faith. I can relate to that! You know there is a chance you will get your heart smashed again, but you give your fear away, anyway. It’s faith in God, above faith in your ability to survive emotional pain. And it’s faith in God, above faith in your spouse’s ability to live his best intentions. God is a miracle worker in so many small ways.

Leave a Reply

